Gluten Free Fried Rice

The day I realized soy sauce wasn’t gluten free was the end of an era for me. I had just started liking sushi. Ian had finally convinced me to try it, and the gluten gods just had to take it away. Bummer. So instead of going out, I have Asian food night at home. It’s like take out but way more work and way less MSG. This recipe is a great side dish to any Asian meal, and it is also great as a main course with a little chicken or steak mixed in too.

I personally recommend finding a good gluten free soy sauce like San-J, but I know some people prefer liquid aminos instead. I don’t think they have as much flavor, so I recommend using a little more than if you were to use soy sauce.

2 cups rice

1 egg

1/4 cup fresh or frozen chopped onion

1/4 cup fresh or frozen corn

1/4 cup fresh or frozen edemame

2 tablespoons gluten free soy sauce or 1/4 cup liquid aminos

1 clove of garlic, chopped fine

1 tablespoon butter

1/2 tablespoon black pepper

  • Cook rice according to package directions. If you don’t regularly cook rice, I recommend boil in the bag or microwavable individual bowls like this and this.
  • While the rice is cooking, melt butter over medium heat. When the butter is melted, add all of the veggies and the garlic. Stir occasionally.
  • When the garlic turns golden brown, add rice and stir well. Then crack the egg into the pan, being careful of the shell, and beat the egg into the rice really well.
  • Add soy sauce or liquid aminos and the black pepper and continue cooking for 5 to 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Nutrition facts are for about 1 1/2 cups of fried rice, or half the recipe, using gluten free soy sauce.

fried rice nutrition

One thought on “Gluten Free Fried Rice

Leave a comment